Settling in

After leaving London at 9am on the 27th I landed in Dhaka at 5am on the 28th. The driver from the VSO Bangladesh (VSBO) office met me at the airport and drove me to the induction flat in Lalmatia which is my home for the best part of the next 4 weeks. The flat isn’t bad, although my jaw must have hit the floor when I first walked in because the driver started laughing, shook my hand and said “Welcome to the simple life my friend”. I started my month long induction later that day at the VSO Bangladesh office, meeting the VSOB staff before heading off to the ‘studio’ for my official photographs.

At the moment I’m sharing the flat with one other newly arrived volunteer, Lena from Germany, and another Rosie from the Philippines who has been in Bangladesh since March. Lena and I are the only new arrivals. Rosie has been great and taken sometime to show us around, meaning we haven’t spent the first couple of days cooped up in the flat.

Fortunately for me Friday and Saturday are holidays in Dhaka (although in most parts of Bangladesh they work a six day week and only take Friday as a holiday) which meant I was able to spend my birthday in style. We started with lunch in Pizza Corner, which I expect will be a rare treat on the VSO allowance, before heading off to meet the Director of the NGO Rosie is placed with at his family home. In the evening we went to meet some other VSO volunteers at their flat, and I finished the day off at the induction flat by cracking open a bottle of whisky and sparking up a cigar. Perfect.

As for the Champions League final … I suppose the Premier League, World Club Championship and League Cup will have to do for this season.

Anyway, we’ll clear up next year!

4 Responses to “Settling in”

  1. Sean Clare Says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your birthday mate and that, despite being half way round the world, you managed to sniff out your favourite restaurant.

    Stick up some photos of your flat. How does it compare to living above the pub in Angel?

    Sean

  2. Amanda Stuart Says:

    Hi!

    Just saw your job advertised and heard about ‘Pravda Bangladesh’ from Sean. How exciting! I hope you are having a fantastic time.

    Must rush as I am meant to be out canvassing for the European elections (medium size continent, west of Russia, you might remember it) but I look forward to your updates. Sun is shining here at least.

    Amanda

  3. Loud Pete Says:

    dude, just checked out the photos on Facebook – liking the bunk beds – hope you got the top!

  4. Hi Brian. Just a quick note to say hope things are going well for you and that you have settled in ok and that you have met some friends. I am sure you will do a great job. Hope you are not working too hard and that you are sill able to get your lie ins!!! Hope they can understand you with your northern accent!!!??
    You left on my birthday!! I was 21-again!
    Am of to Malawi on Oct 4th. Getting excited. Counting days the time left at school!! 22 and counting.
    Anyway, enjoy yourself and good luck with it all.
    Rachel x x

Leave a Reply

